T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule: India’s Quest for Trophy Begins

- Cricket - January 6, 2024
T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule India's Quest for Trophy Begins
T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule India's Quest for Trophy Begins

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the schedule for the T20 World Cup 2024, which will be jointly hosted by West Indies and USA. The tournament will feature 20 teams for the first time, divided into four groups of five teams each. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 8 stage, followed by the semi-finals and the final.

India, who lost to Australia in the final of the ODI World Cup 2023, will be looking to end their ICC trophy drought in the T20 format. India have not won a T20 World Cup since 2007, when they beat Pakistan in the inaugural edition. India are placed in Group B, along with Pakistan, Ireland, USA, and Canada.

India will start their campaign against Ireland on June 5 in New York. They will then face their arch-rivals Pakistan on June 9 in the same city, in what is expected to be a high-voltage clash. India will then take on the hosts USA on June 12, before wrapping up their group stage with a match against Canada on June 15 in Florida.

The Super 8 round will be played from June 18 to June 25, with two groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, which will be held on June 27 and June 28. The final will be played on June 29 at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium in Florida.

The T20 World Cup 2024 will be the first ICC event to be held in the USA, which has been granted ODI status by the ICC. The USA will also host the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held from July 1 to July 15. The ICC hopes that hosting these events will help grow the game in the region and attract new fans and players.

T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

June 1Australia vs New ZealandFlorida
June 2England vs South AfricaGuyana
June 2West Indies vs BangladeshTrinidad
June 3Afghanistan vs ScotlandFlorida
June 3Sri Lanka vs NetherlandsGuyana
June 4India vs IrelandNew York
June 4Pakistan vs CanadaTrinidad
June 5Australia vs ZimbabweFlorida
June 5England vs NamibiaGuyana
June 6West Indies vs OmanTrinidad
June 6Afghanistan vs Papua New GuineaFlorida
June 7Sri Lanka vs IrelandGuyana
June 7India vs PakistanNew York
June 8New Zealand vs ZimbabweFlorida
June 8South Africa vs NamibiaGuyana
June 9Bangladesh vs OmanTrinidad
June 9Scotland vs Papua New GuineaFlorida
June 10Netherlands vs IrelandGuyana
June 10India vs USANew York
June 11Canada vs ZimbabweFlorida
June 11South Africa vs EnglandGuyana
June 12Oman vs West IndiesTrinidad
June 12Afghanistan vs ScotlandFlorida
June 13Sri Lanka vs NetherlandsGuyana
June 13Pakistan vs USANew York
June 14New Zealand vs CanadaFlorida
June 14Namibia vs EnglandGuyana
June 15Bangladesh vs West IndiesTrinidad
June 15India vs CanadaFlorida
June 16Zimbabwe vs AustraliaFlorida
June 16South Africa vs EnglandGuyana
June 17Oman vs BangladeshTrinidad
June 17Papua New Guinea vs AfghanistanFlorida
June 18-25Super 8 roundVarious
June 27Semi-final 1Guyana
June 28Semi-final 2Trinidad
June 29FinalFlorida

Comments are closed.